The Seven Sacraments

St Saviour’s

The Window of ‘The Seven Sacraments’ in St Saviour’s Church and was created by John Hayward and unveiled by HRH Princess Alexandra in 1985. It is situated in the North-East wall of the church.

The Seven Sacraments

There are seven sacraments in the Church:
BaptismConfirmationReconciliationHoly Communion (Mass, Eucharist)MarriageSacraments of the SickOrdination

  1. Baptism
    Baptism is a rite of initiation and belonging that enables us to enter into a relationship with Jesus Christ and the Church. We baptize adults and infants in the belief that God’s love extends to everyone regardless of their age.
  2. Confirmation
    In Confirmation, a baptised Christian makes “ a mature commitment to Christ, and receives strength from the Holy Spirit through prayer and the laying on of hands by a bishop.” – The Book of Common Prayer
  3. Reconciliation Also known as Confession
    “Reconciliation of a Penitent is the rite in which those who repent of their sins may confess them to God in the presence of a priest, and receive the assurance of pardon and the grace of absolution.” – The Book of Common Prayer.
    This sacrament is perhaps the least understood. Why tell God something that God already knows… in the presence of another person? Because there are times in our lives when things we do (or don’t do) block us from growing spiritually. They stand between us and God and we can’t get around them. Reconciliation is a way of removing the barriers that our bad behaviours create.
  4. The Mass Also known as the Lord’s Supper, or Holy Communion, the Eucharist
    “the sacrament commanded by Christ for the continual remembrance of his life, death, and resurrection, until his coming again.” – The Book of Common Prayer
    All baptised Christians who have been admitted to Holy Communion, are Confirmed or in good standing with their own denomination are welcome to be part of this sacred meal.
  5. Marriage
    “Holy Matrimony is Christian marriage, in which the woman and man enter into a lifelong union, make their vows before God and the Church, and receive the grace and blessing of God to help them fulfil their vows.” – The Book of Common Prayer
  6. Sacraments of the Sick
    This sacrament exists for the purpose of healing — to restore a person to physical, emotional and spiritual wholeness.
    “Unction is the rite of anointing the sick with oil, or the laying on of hands, by which God’s grace is given for the healing of spirit, mind, and body.” – The Book of Common Prayer
  7. Ordination
    God calls all people into a spiritual relationship and gives us particular gifts with which to live our lives as Christians. We use the word “ministry” to describe our response to God’s call to live a certain way and do particular things. Everyone has a ministry because everyone is called. Some are called by God to exercise their Christian ministry by Ordination as a Bishop, Priest or Deacon.

John Hayward was a British stained glass artist who made nearly 200 windows in churches and cathedrals across Britain and abroad.

The inscription reads:
Geoffrey Philip Oddie Smith 1917 – 1982
Hilda Maria Johanna Smith 1914 – 1976
R • I • P